Chicken Growth Stages

At Cape Chickens we have chicks available on 6 weeks, 8 weeks and 12 weeks.

The milestones in a chickens life cycle is listed below:

  1. Weeks 1 to 4 Baby Chicks
  2. Weeks 5 to 15 Teenage Birds
  3. Weeks 16 to 17 Eggticipation
  4. Week 18 The First Egg
  5. Month 18 First Molting
  6. Retirement Average life expectancy of 6 to 8 years

Terms for Types of Chickens

Bantam: A diminutive breed of domestic fowl. Find out more here
Boiler: A chicken 6 to 9 months old.
Broiler: A cockerel of 2 or 3 pounds, at 8 to 12 weeks old.
Cock: A male chicken, also called a rooster.
Cockerel: A young rooster, under 1-year-old.
Fryer: A chicken of 3 to 4 pounds, at 12 to 14 weeks old.
Hen: A female chicken.
Nest Egg: Literally, a china or wooden egg placed into the nest to encourage laying.
Point-of-lay Pullet: A young female, just about to lay, near 5 months old.
Pullet: A young female chicken, under 1-year-old.
Roaster: A chicken of 4 to 6 pounds, over 12 to 14 weeks old.
Rooster: A male chicken; also called a cock.
Sexed Chicks: Separated into pullets only or only cockerels
Straight Run: Pullets and cockerels, mixed (unsexed or “as hatched.”)